Young Engineers & Scientists

YES! (Young Engineers & Scientists)  is a Special Interest Group of the SUT.

With the support of the SUT Perth Branch, the purpose of YES! (Young Engineers & Scientists) initiatives and events are to:

  • Create awareness of the subsea/underwater industry amongst young engineers and scientists
  • Develop young engineers and scientists within the subsea/underwater industry
  • Provide networking opportunities to build relationships amongst young engineers and scientists within the subsea/underwater industry.
  • Introduce education groups to SUT (high school and/or universities), encouraging them to join the subsea/underwater industry

YES! Chairman
Liam Salter

YES! Vice Chairperson
Elena Gerginov

YES! Secretary
Tom Hitchmough

YES! Programme & Marketing Lead
Liang Ming Lee

SUT Committee Members:
Mark Casey, Paul Farquharson, Bukkie Orugun

Committee Members

Nathan Atkinson
Sotiri Battalis
Flora Chiew
Shannon Dee - Curtin SLO
Joseph Graville
Sam Hayes
Jessica Kolbusz - UWA SLO
Brendon McAlpine
Alana Pols - AMC SLO
Nitin Repalle
Thomas Russell
Irina Sankoff - Murdoch SLO


YES! 2020 Committee

Elections for the YES! Committee are held biannually,  next election dates as follows:
September 2021 – Call out for nominations
October 2021 – Ballots if required
November 2021 – Announced

The nomination form will be available here in September 2021.

Click here for YES! Committee Rules & Operating Structure


Many thanks to our YES! 2021 Annual Sponsors:





Thank you to Woodside & Santos for being our YES! Annual Sponsors in 2020 & 2021.


Further YES! Sponsorship packages available, click here for details.